top of page

How food changes your perspective

Updated: Jan 14, 2019

In the end- it is all about perspective. Some people choose to fill their stomach so they wouldn't be bothered by the sounds that it makes, some keep a healthy diet and a nourishing menu, and to some people food is a source of happiness. Which one are you?

Imagine you don't need food to survive, what would you eat?

For as long as I can remember, my relationship status with food was "it's complicated". We never got to our perfect compromise. I mean, don't get me wrong- I always loved food and he loved me, but then there was this problem every time we were together- we just couldn't get enough, and it had hurt the both of us. After our together times- I was suffering from an overweight or stomach issued while it finished his life. I didn't know what to do, I tried to leave but I couldn't stop missing him and hearing his voice calling me from that dark corner of the kitchen. So I kept coming back, because I thought that I would never find other food for myself, a food that will make me truly happy and free, a food that will end this addictive relationship.


Good vs. bad food


The wrong food does crazy things to you, and you have no idea until you get "the call" from your doctor.

It was winter when I noticed something was wrong with my health. I became weaker and felt like my stomach hurts all the time for no special reason. So I have decided to check out on my doctor, and get a blood test just in case. So I did.


That call scared the sh** out of me

You know in movies when a patient gets a phone call from his doctor in the middle of the day to inform him of a serious health condition? I felt just like that. My doctor called to tell me I have a high cholesterol level and that I should seriously consider a diet, which sounded kind of offending considering the fact I wasn't even fat. But well, what could I do? I started a healthy diet, or at least I tried.


Losing bad habits is the best you can do


I understand now that the saying "you are what you eat" is true, I have noticed it during my diet. Consuming healthy food made me so much better then before.

When I was younger I used to starve myself for days only to be skinny, and then I would go and eat every junk food I could find until I felt I couldn't breath. Then I would light a cigarette to relief the heaviness, and then eat again, then starve again. After that cholesterol call I got, I have decided to begin a healthier way of life. Even though I always been in shape and exercised daily, at an older age I started to realize I was just lucky to have my moms genes. I started to see how badly my health needs me to take care of it, so I decided to stop consuming anything that can hurt me. Of course it wasn't easy at all, but the longer I kept testing new healthy ideas, the better I started feeling, and it made me feel alive again after many years of depression and laziness.


I will never hurt my health again


I chose to get rid of my old nasty habits and let them go. I promised myself I would never let myself fall again for things that are bad for me;

-Bad foods

-Cigarettes

-Alcohol

-Wrong people

-Stress

-Skipping workout


And with this positive thought, I am going to make me a healthy food menu and a new workout schedule, and this time- I am not going to break.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page